Another year, another birthday..

Well folks, my birthday is next Sunday. While I am not excited, I am definitely grateful and feeling blessed for another year. Why am I not excited? I’m turning 30. The big 3-0. I don’t know what it is about this number that has me so… Unexcited.. Scared, maybe.
I don’t feel 30. I don’t even look 30. Strangers look at me in shock when I tell them my age. I get excited when I’m carded for alcohol (pre-pregnancy folks, pre-pregnancy).
Maybe, because this year has been filled with so many changes. New city, new baby on the way, and new adjustments. So different from last year at this time.
As I sit here and reflect on my upcoming future, I can’t help but remember the past. Being pregnant at 30, is very different than being pregnant at 19 and 23. While each of those ages for me mark a significant milestone, age 30 has been very different. Pregnancy complications, body changes, and emotions.
I’m even celebrating differently this year. No big fuss, nothing special. I would just like to spend this time with my kids and boyfriend. Absolutely no partying.
Well, to all of you April birthdays this year, Happy Birthday.
Side note: My birthday is earth day!

Leave a Reply

